JJC1138.net

The Best Things In Life Are Free

Posted on: February 20, 2007

Yay! Heroes is starting on TV in the UK today!

I had it down on my calendar as being on BBC2, but actually it’s getting its first run on the Sci-Fi Channel. No problem: I’ve got that channel, and I’ll just start watching it late so that I can fast-forward through the ads. So 22:16 rolls around and I flick the TV on and find that the fine, upstanding folks at the Sci-Fi Channel have decided to broadcast the show in not-so-glorious 4:3 (“fullscreen”) instead of its native widescreen. So, I sat down and watched it, in all it’s missing-one-quarter-of-the-picture crappiness…

…No, of course I didn’t. I went off to see what’s cooking on the Internets and it took 5 minutes to find a download of the first episode in high-definition (widescreen, of course) with 5.1 surround sound. Oh, and naturally the next 15 episodes are there too. Gee, that’s a real hard decision you’re giving me Mr. Sci-Fi Channel!

I do have a little bit of sympathy for content owners in this day and age: after all, it is difficult to compete with ‘free’. But they could at least give themselves a fighting chance by offering a product that is as good as the free version.

(Yes, the more observant of you will have noticed that this post is just saying the same thing as that post I made the other day, and even uses the same annoying sarcastic style. Hey, as a wise man once said: if it’s worth saying once, it’s worth saying repeatedly until your friends get really bored of your blog and don’t want to be your friends anymore.)

Leave a Reply

See my contact details and more stuff from me at JJC1138.net.

